Sunday, November 21, 2010

Maryland Wins Women's Field Hockey Title

By Jeff Seidel
Special to

When asked to describe the shot she took that gave Maryland the 2010 NCAA Division I women’s field hockey national championship, Megan Frazer hesitated and then giggled.

The reason – she just couldn’t remember very much about it.

But one thing Frazer knew for sure was that her shot went in to give No. 1 Maryland a come-from-behind 3-2 victory over No. 2 North Carolina with two minutes, 10 seconds left in the second period of sudden-death overtime before an overflow crowd at Maryland’s Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex Sunday afternoon.

Maryland (23-1) now has won four national titles in the last six seasons. North Carolina (22-3) won it the two years that the Terrapins didn’t. The Terrapins now have won seven national titles, and the Tar Heels also were trying for their seventh.